Skip to content

University of Sudbury Residence... where balance equals study, rest and play

NOTE that the University of Sudbury Residence will not be open for the 2021-2022 academic year. We hope to open again in a near future. Stay tuned for updates.

US ResidenceLogo 2018 RGB

IMG 0729 1

The University of Sudbury Residence, formerly known as the Lucien Matte Residence, provides a "home away from home" to 176 students.  It offers the largest double rooms on campus, as well as a Healthy Living section.  Each room is equipped with an outlet for Internet services.

In a bilingual environment, a range of activities, services and support are provided by the Residence Life Director, the Residence Life Leaders and by the Residence Student Council.  Organized events and activities include: cultural nights, banquets, hockey and ball-hockey, fundraising for charities, and many more.

Small sections of 10 to 15 students provide a comfortable community environment.  Common areas, such as the kitchen and dining area (where you can prepare your own meals), social room, laundry room and study room are conveniently located on the ground floor, ensuring a more peaceful atmosphere in the bedrooms.

At the University of Sudbury Residence many have established friendships that last a lifetime.

 

VR icn Res single VR icn Res dble
Click on the photo to access each virtual tour.




Click the video above to view a tour of the Residence!


For any other information please feel free to contact the Residence office at (705) 673-5661, ext. 420 or usudrez@usudbury.ca 

 

Residence CLUBS

Get involved! Propose or join a club, or participate in organized events and activities. You will meet many fellow residents and can make friends for life! Clubs will be created according to interest every year. Possibilities for clubs:

  • Arts Club
  • Community Engagement club
  • Environmental Club
  • Francophone Club
  • Health and Wellness Club
  • Indigenous Cultural Awareness Club
  • Communications Club
For more information, to propose or join a club, email usudrez@usudbury.ca

 

Residence Life Leaders

The Residence Life Leaders are a team of seven students who have lived in the residence for at least one academic year.  The team is responsible for maintaining an atmosphere conducive to study, rest, relaxation, quiet hours, and cleanliness on their floors.  Residence Life Leaders are also responsible for organizing their floors for kitchen duty and their Leader on Duty schedule.  They are your first contact in residence for any questions or concerns.  They receive extensive training in many aspects of residence life that provides them with the tools necessary in assisting students. They help create the “home away from home” comfort in the residence.  This years team is the 51st group of Life Leaders to assist in managing the University of Sudbury Residence.

 

Residence Porters

Customer Service is a big part of their job, as they answer many questions and provide information to students and guests. They are responsible for logging information, signing guests in and out, and issuing bracelets. Porters are normally the first person who will contact security or emergency personnel if an emergency arises. Their collaboration with the Residence Life Leaders and all residents is key to ensuring a safe environment.

 


 



IMG 4459

 

I like U of S Residence because it's affordable and has big rooms. I also don't have to get a meal plan. The people are very friendly and supportive."  - Khushboo Patel 

 

See more testimonials HERE

Skip to content

Résidence de l'Université de Sudbury... où l'équilibre c'est l'étude, le repos et le plaisir

Notez que la Résidence de l'Université de Sudbury ne sera pas ouverte pour l'année académique 2021-2022. Nous espérons pouvoir rouvrir dans un futur rapproché. Restez aux aguets pour des mises à jour.

US ResidenceLogo 2018 RGB
IMG 0729 1

La Résidence de l'Université de Sudbury, anciennement connu sous le nom Résidence Lucien-Matte, offre un « chez-soi loin de chez-soi », une ambiance de « chez-nous » à 176 étudiant(e)s.  Elle offre aussi les plus grandes chambres doubles sur campus, ainsi qu'une section dédiée à un mode de vie sain.  Chaque chambre est équipée avec une prise pour l'internet.

La Directrice de la vie étudiante, les Chefs de vie étudiante et le Conseil étudiant de la Résidence offrent un vaste éventail d'activités, de services et d'aide dans un environnement bilingue, par exemple : soirée culturelle, banquet, le hockey et le hockey-balle, la mobilisation de fonds pour des organismes de bienfaisance, et plusieurs autres.

Les petites sections de 10 à 15 étudiants fournissent un environnement communautaire confortable.  Les zones communes, comme la cuisine-salle à manger (où on peut préparer ses propres repas), le salon, la buanderie et la salle d'étude, sont idéalement situés au rez-de-chaussée afin d'assurer la tranquillité dans les chambres.

À la Résidence de l'Université de Sudbury, plusieurs ont noué des amitiés pour la vie.


Cliquez la vidéo ci-dessus pour une tournée de la résidence!

 

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez composer le (705) 673-5661, poste 420 ou usudrez@usudbury.ca 

 

CLUBs de la résidence

Impliquez vous!  Créez ou joignez-vous à un club, ou participez aux activités et événements organisés. Vous aurez l'occasion de rencontrer plein de gens et développer des amitiés qui dureront pour la vie! Les clubs seront créés selon l'intérêt démontré à chaque année. Voici des possibilités de clubs:

  • Club d'arts
  • Club d'environnement
  • Club francophone
  • Club relatif à la culture autochtone
  • Club de la santé et du bien-être
  • Club d'engagement communautaire
  • Club de communication
Si vous souhaitez proposer ou vous joindre à un club, ou si vous avez des questions, prière d'envoyer un courriel à usudrez@usudbury.ca

 

Chefs de vie en résidence

L’équipe des chefs de vie étudiante est composée de sept étudiants qui vivent en résidence depuis au moins une année scolaire. Ils doivent faire observer les heures de tranquillité, maintenir un environnement propice aux études, au repos, à la relaxation et assurer la propreté de leur étage. Les chefs sont aussi responsables d’organiser les fonctions de cuisine et de suivre les horaires de fonctions des chefs au service. Ils sont les premiers contacts pour n’importe quelles questions ou soucis. Ils reçoivent une formation importante qui touche à plusieurs aspects de la vie en résidence et qui les outille de façon à venir à l’aide de l’étudiant. Ils participent de façon active à créer l’atmosphère du « chez-soi loin de chez-soi » de la résidence. Cette équipe est le 51e groupe de chefs de vie en résidence pour aider à la gestion de la Résidence de l'Université de Sudbury.


Portiers de la résidence

Le service au client représente une grande partie de leur travail; ils répondent à beaucoup de questions et fournissent des informations aux étudiants et aux invités. Ils sont responsables de tenir compte de certains renseignements, de l’inscription des invités à leur arrivée et départ, et d’émettre les bracelets. Dans la majorité des cas d’urgence, les portiers sont les premiers à contacter la sécurité ou le personnel de secours. Leur collaboration avec les chefs et tous les résidents est importante pour assurer un environnement sécure.


 



IMG 4459

 

J’aime la Résidence de l’U de S parce qu’elle n’est pas trop dispendieuse et a de grandes chambres. Je n’ai pas besoin d’acheter un plan de repas. Les gens sont vraiment bien et offrent un grand soutien. - Khushboo Patel 

 

Voir autres témoignages ICI