Skip to content

Profile, Mission and Vision

NOTE that this page is for informational and reference purposes only, as the University of Sudbury finds itself in a period of significant restructuring and change. See the News section for further details on the current context.


A founding member of the Laurentian Federation, the University of Sudbury is dedicated to maintaining the personal character and sense of community that only a smaller institution can offer. Our university inspires its students to become thoughtful and engaged citizens with strong leadership skills and commitment to shared responsibility in the development of social solutions, through quality liberal arts education, research and outreach, all within a bilingual and tri-cultural environment.



To be known as a student-centered university which inspires students to question assumptions, explore the big questions and be better prepared to serve their communities, in their professions of choice.



Founded as Collège du Sacré-Coeur in 1913, it was the first, and for many years the only, institution of higher learning in Northern Ontario. In 1957, it changed its name to "University of Sudbury" and began to exercise its full teaching and degree-granting powers.  It entered into the Laurentian Federation as a founding member in 1960.

The University of Sudbury is a bilingual university based in the tradition of its founding Jesuit Fathers, and committed to promoting the traditions and culture of the Indigenous people.

Inspired by the Jesuit philosophy of education (the formation of the whole person in service to community), the University of Sudbury also has a special commitment to community engagement and service to others.

The University offers programs and courses in Philosophy, Indigenous Studies, Religious Studies, Folklore, and Études journalistiques – all of which are accredited towards a Laurentian University degree.


What is the Laurentian Federation?
The University of Sudbury is a member of the Laurentian Federation. What does this mean, exactly? Essentially, students who register at Laurentian University have the opportunity to study at any or all of the four federated Universities located on the same campus: Huntington University, Laurentian University, Thorneloe University, and the University of Sudbury.  Programs, courses, majors and minors taken at any of these Universities are credited towards a Laurentian University degree. In addition, all students of the Federation can take advantage of the services offered on the entire campus.

In a nutshell: 1 Federation (4 universities) = more choices, allowing you to get exactly what you want out of your studies!

100th Anniversary Gala Celebrations
During the 2013-2014 academic year, the University of Sudbury celebrated its 100th anniversary.  On May 3rd, 2014, more than 300 alumni and friends of this institution joined the festivities.

The gala marked the end of a series of celebrations commemorating the opening of the Collège du Sacré-Cœur in 1913, which became the University of Sudbury in 1957.  "The Jesuit Fathers’ dream to provide quality education has touched more than one generation of young northern Ontarians who have certainly left their mark in our communities. We are pleased to continue this dream today." - stated Dr. Pierre Zundel, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sudbury  (See the President's speech for the centennial year)


University of Sudbury Founders
A lot of the work done at the University is made possible thanks to donors, and the founders of the University of Sudbury. Click below to view the list of our founders.

A- A A+